top of page

Update on Summer long Projects - CNC machine

Back during the summer of 2017, I came up with two projects that I thought would be very interesting. A CNC machine, and a 3-D printed motorized longboard. Due to work, school, and vacation time, I haven't devoted a lot of time to these projects. The only thing I did over the last few months was order the parts that I would need to build and finish these two projects

As of now, I have started my preliminary work for my CNC machine. CNC stands for Computer Numeric Control. As the name suggests, it uses computer programming called 'G-code' to control and maneuver physical machine tools such as lathes and mills to do work much faster than manual machining allows for.

Traditional manual machine tools are used to make a part. Machining is the process of removing material. Examples of machined parts include door knobs. faucets, and other every day objects that we might not think of. Nowadays with mass production, using computerized machining tools, gets the job done faster to meet the demand.

Drafting of CNC machine (Autodesk Inventor)

Above is a miniaturized version of the CNC machine I designed. Originally, It was just going to have a pencil and I was going to use it to draw messages. However it quickly evolved into using an attached laser which would etch wood. (If you're gonna design something it might as well have a use.)

Currently I have all the parts and code ready, I just need to buy some metal, which will then be machined into supports for the CNC. It is good to practice manual machining skills when I create the supports so that I do not forget what I have learned in class. Over the next few weeks, I will publish my progress on making the CNC.


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page