top of page

Ultrasonic-operated Trashcan

Carrying over from my previous blog (Aug. 9) I was going to post a few 3D printed examples I have done in the past. Then I decided to go on a three and half week vacation, and my blog remained stagnant.

Below is one of my designs back from January 2017. This was designed to keep my motivation up and the momentum going with my projects. It is a garbage can with an ultra sonic sensor mounted on the lid of the can. The sensor is used to detect when a hand goes over a sensor. The lid would then open.

Attached to the lid is a servo motor with an arm that would be connected to the base of the lid. When the sensor is activated the arm would move 45 degrees and push the lid upwards.

(Image of CAD file, Autodesk Inventor)

I designed a mini version measuring by 3 by 3 in. at the base, and increasing to 4 by 4 in. at the top. (This was to give the body a sleek and unique look) The above CAD file is an example of using the Loft feature on Inventor. The feature can be used to bridge profiles between two 2d shapes. In this case the Loft feature was used to bridge the gap between the 3 by 3 base and the 4 by 4 top. The feature can be used to create very unique and interesting shapes, however I opted for just a rectangular prism shaped loft.


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page